## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

## **Executive Committee Resolution No. 265**

Introduced by:

Edward J.B. Calvo Frank F. Blas, Jr. <u>Benjamin J.F. Cruz</u> James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith P. Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki Jesse A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña-Barnes vicente "ben" pangelinan Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. Rory J. Respicio Ray Tenorio David L.G. Shimizu Judith T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the Leyte-Samar Association on the induction of its Officers and Board of Directors.

## 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I* 2 *MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:

3 **WHEREAS,** the Leyte-Samar Association was established in 1959, with 4 Donny Madiha as the first president, and the people of Leyte and Samar, enthusiastically and jubilantly encouraged more people to join the association for
fun and enjoyment; and

3 WHEREAS, looking to the future and working towards the progress of the 4 association and the island of Guam, the association strives to gather sufficient 5 funds to provide financial assistance to communities struck by calamity; and

6 WHEREAS, the Leyte-Samar Association has given countless donations to 7 the American Cancer Society and the American Red Cross, and has been able to 8 deliver monetary and in-kind contributions to communities on the island of 9 Guam and in the southern and northern areas of the province of Leyte; and

10 WHEREAS, the Leyte-Samar Association serves as an invaluable 11 resource to Guam, and in light of the Association's continued services to the 12 community and its people, commendation and recognition is in order; now, 13 therefore, be it

14 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 15 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 16 people of Guam, commend Mr. Pete Panal and the Officers of the Leyte-Samar 17 Association and the members of the Board of Directors for a job well done; 18 and, be it further

19 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive 20 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attests to, the adoption 21 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Pete Panal,

- 1 President; to Consul General Bayani Mercado of the Philippines; and to the
- 2 Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE  $11^{TH}$  DAY OF DECEMBER 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, ED. D. Speaker and Chairperson, Executive Committee

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Senator and Secretary of the Legislature